top of page
  • vefe8607

WEBVENTURE !!!

Updated: May 6, 2023


My idea for this webventure was a wacky alternate reality version of Boulder, where you encounter a bunch of weird characters throughout the game; a sasquatch on the ski slopes, a frat troll, a traveling merchant under the bridge near the creek. While my initial ideas were too ambitious for the scope of a 2 week, end of the semester project, I think I was pretty successful in executing my idea, at least to a smaller degree.


I think the most successful parts of my webventure are the ski slope, the frat house, the blackairforce path, and the closet gifs.


The ski slope has a lot of different player options that determine your outcome / if you survive. I wanted the frat house to have more rooms, but I like the gremlin gif and the mysterious cup gif that I made.

I also spent a lot of time playing with the gifts for the closet. I discovered that Wix has a cool feature - there are image buttons that can turn to gifs when hovered over. I used this to make the clothes gifs when hovered over. You can see my progress as they get better with each one I did. The first one I made (clout goggles) vs. the last one (the helmet), you can clearly see the improvement.


I will say that the WIX format is not entirely suited to a video game-type website (at least the free version isn't), especially if you want the choices to have consequences later on. I wanted all my clothing options to have different effects in game (the helmet for protection, goggles for vision, drug rug has a hidden item in pocket that you can trade later). This was just not realistic for the project / wix.

I was able to accomplish this with my most successful part : the black airforces. Its a meme that people who wear black airforces like to fight. In the game, when you encounter the yeti, your options are run, hide, & fight. I wanted the fight option to be a game over/dead end, UNLESS you were wearing black airforces or the helmet, then you would win the fight. I realized that to do this, I would have to make a copy of every single page on the website to make a separate path from the beginning if the player chose the airforces. This made me run out of pages, because wix has a 100 page limit per site. Still, I think my biggest success was the black airforces option/path.


Overall, my main takeaway from this project is that I didn't realize how easy it was to make high quality gifs, using photoshop. Once I got the idea, I could make a simple gif in 15 minutes max. Also, this project was a lot of fun to do & I wish I had more time to work on it.

Also, some easter eggs you may have missed :

  • In the frat, if you hover over one cup, a rat appears. On click, there's a youtube video.

  • The river & the fish on the Creek page are also links to videos

  • In the living room, the letter on the table goes to a Trump “smash or pass”

  • If you click the photo icon on the phone, you get a funny picture.

  • On the ski slope, if you go to the woods, go right, then left, you encounter a yeti


Some of my favorite gifs that I made:






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page